top of page
Search
  • gettysburgdar

My Journey to DAR by Linda Raymond




My earliest introduction to DAR was my

senior year in high school (1965) when I

received the Good Citizen award for my

small high school in Earlville, Illinois. I’m

pretty sure this made a big impact on my

parents because my baby book contains.

this certificate and newspaper clippings.









Fast forward a few years past the college

years, my early professional life as a high

school music teacher, and a move from

Illinois to northern Virginia.


I arrived in Arlington, VA on Memorial Day, 1971 and son Terry was born on July 9. I augmented the family finances by serving as organist choirmaster of a local church, but the advent of the all-volunteer military force in 1973 opened up an opportunity for women, a woman, me, to audition for the all-male United States Army Band and Chorus. I was accepted for the Army Chorus in July of 1974.


Basic training at Fort McClellan, Anniston, Alabama. Midway through the cycle, boots and fatigues were issued to replace the shorts and tennis shoes we trained in.

Basic training at Fort McClellan, AL


No worries, it was over by Thanksgiving, and I returned to Fort Myer, VA to commence my career. There was only one problem – the Army Chorus was all male and it became clear that it was intended to remain that way. The planned for Women’s Chorus did not materialize so the three of us present for duty worked on a way to make a contribution as sopranos and altos. Stints at cleaning the men’s quarters, working in the library, and various other jobs kept us busy as we worked to recruit a few more women.


Our earliest performance as a women’s trio was Don't Sit Under the Apple Tree at the 1975 anniversary concert – at DAR Constitution Hall.


As time went on, Chorus members 'volunteered' to sing with the women; we rehearsed the same music over and over as the men rotated in and out of our ‘Chamber Singers’ on a timetable. Eventually the Chamber Singers evolved into the Chorale, which became a dedicated small pop vocal group with a combo. I led our group in various capacities throughout my career. We were highly visible and in demand, but we operated under a microscope of what to wear, how to move, even hair color!


We performed at large ceremonies, events and celebrations on bases all across the country because there was no other group like us among the service bands. We frequently flew out on C130s, generals’ planes, or commercial airlines on Saturdays, rehearsed, performed, and came home Sundays.


My entire twenty-year career was highlighted throughout with Constitution Hall performances. The very best time of the year was the holiday season. With Constitution Hall as the anchor, we performed nearly every day in December, and children of Chorale members joined us there in An American Holiday Celebration. My son Terry was the snowman featured in our arrangement of Leroy Anderson's Sleigh Ride. We loved it and the audience loved it too. We packed the Hall and a similar show exists to this day.


Terry as the snowman, Linda behind him


Meanwhile, my parents were pursuing their genealogical interests and informed me that they thought I would be eligible to join the DAR through my dad’s ancestry. They collected information from family near and far, spent time at libraries, and organized their documents on paper with the only resources available at that time.


Finally! Retirement and opportunity. In 2010 we moved to Gettysburg. I investigated DAR and met Barb Greeley. She encouraged me to attend a DAR meeting or two at Herr’s Ridge Inn. I considered applying but my parents were deceased, and the effort seemed overwhelming without their information and support.


In recent years I dove deeply into www.ancestry.com. Building my tree confirmed all the work my parents had done. I was finally going to apply to be a member of DAR! In the summer of 2020, I put my materials together, and with Barb’s guidance we submitted the application package. I received approval in September of 2020.


This is an amazing organization of preservation, education, and patriotism, and a bonus - I love to dress up! I am looking forward to meeting more daughters at the State Conference and Continental Congress.

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page